Site Meter

Another Player of the Year Award for Rooney

The honours keep rolling in for Manchester United and England super striker Wayne Rooney. Just one week after being named the Professional Footballers’ Association Player of the Year, he has secured an awards double when he was voted the Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year. He finished ahead of Chelsea striker Didier Drogba and former United team mate Carlos Tevez after collecting a staggering 81% of the vote.

Rooney has topped a poll of journalists following an outstanding season during which he has scored 34 goals for United. He is aiming to shake off a groin injury to feature again before the end of the season and expressed his delight at clinching another individual accolade.

“I am delighted to win an award with so much history and tradition and to follow a long line of wonderful players who have been honoured by the Football Writers’ Association since 1948 gives me real pride,” said Rooney, who will receive his award at the FWA’s gala dinner at The Lancaster London Hotel on 13th May.

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank my manager Sir Alex Ferguson, the coaching staff and my team mates without whose help and support this award would not have been possible. My thanks also go to my family and friends for their constant support which is always appreciated. I thank the Football Writers’ Association members who voted for me and I look forward to personally collecting my award at the Footballer of the Year dinner”

Football Writers Association chairman Steve Bates, chief football writer for The People, commented “Wayne is a worthy winner of our prestigious award and the margin of his victory is testimony to the marvellous season he has had for club and country. His tally of 34 goals so far this season is certain to have captured the attention of our members but I am sure the overall improvement in his game at Manchester United has been of equal significance”

Bates continued “Wayne’s enthusiasm, hunger and desire mark him out as a special player and we hope he can carry his club form onto the international stage in the World Cup this summer to help England achieve their dream. We now look forward to saluting Wayne at our dinner”

The complete list of  PFA Player of the Year Winners

Year Player Club
1947–48 Stanley Matthews Blackpool
1948–49 Johnny Carey Manchester United
1949–50 Joe Mercer Arsenal
1950–51 Harry Johnston Blackpool
1951–52 Billy Wright Wolverhampton Wanderers
1952–53 Nat Lofthouse Bolton Wanderers
1953–54 Tom Finney Preston North End
1954–55 Don Revie Manchester City
1955–56 Bert Trautmann Manchester City
1956–57 Tom Finney Preston North End
1957–58 Danny Blanchflower Tottenham Hotspur
1958–59 Syd Owen Luton Town
1959–60 Bill Slater Wolverhampton Wanderers
1960–61 Danny Blanchflower Tottenham Hotspur
1961–62 Jimmy Adamson Burnley
1962–63 Stanley Matthews Stoke City
1963–64 Bobby Moore West Ham United
1964–65 Bobby Collins Leeds United
1965–66 Bobby Charlton Manchester United
1966–67 Jack Charlton Leeds United
1967–68 George Best Manchester United
1968–69 Tony Book (joint winner) Manchester City
1968–69 Dave Mackay (joint winner) Derby County
1969–70 Billy Bremner Leeds United
1970–71 Frank McLintock Arsenal
1971–72 Gordon Banks Stoke City
1972–73 Pat Jennings Tottenham Hotspur
1973–74 Ian Callaghan Liverpool
1974–75 Alan Mullery Fulham
1975–76 Kevin Keegan Liverpool
1976–77 Emlyn Hughes Liverpool
1977–78 Kenny Burns Nottingham Forest
1978–79 Kenny Dalglish Liverpool
1979–80 Terry McDermott Liverpool
1980–81 Frans Thijssen Ipswich Town
1981–82 Steve Perryman Tottenham Hotspur
1982–83 Kenny Dalglish Liverpool
1983–84 Ian Rush Liverpool
1984–85 Neville Southall Everton
1985–86 Gary Lineker Everton
1986–87 Clive Allen Tottenham Hotspur
1987–88 John Barnes Liverpool
1988–89 Steve Nicol Liverpool
1989–90 John Barnes Liverpool
1990–91 Gordon Strachan Leeds United
1991–92 Gary Lineker Tottenham Hotspur
1992–93 Chris Waddle Sheffield Wednesday
1993–94 Alan Shearer Blackburn Rovers
1994–95 Jürgen Klinsmann Tottenham Hotspur
1995–96 Eric Cantona Manchester United
1996–97 Gianfranco Zola Chelsea
1997–98 Dennis Bergkamp Arsenal
1998–99 David Ginola Tottenham Hotspur
1999–00 Roy Keane Manchester United
2000–01 Teddy Sheringham Manchester United
2001–02 Robert Pirès Arsenal
2002–03 Thierry Henry Arsenal
2003–04 Thierry Henry Arsenal
2004–05 Frank Lampard Chelsea
2005–06 Thierry Henry Arsenal
2006–07 Cristiano Ronaldo Manchester United
2007–08 Cristiano Ronaldo Manchester United
2008–09 Steven Gerrard Liverpool
2009–10 Wayne Rooney Manchester United

Comments are closed.


Show Love!